No announcement yet.

Country – Gary Turner

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Country – Gary Turner

    After a successful couple of months that included a coveted spot on the recent tour by Americana favourite Hayes Carll and radio promo visits in the USA Hunter Valley singer-songwriter Kirsty Akers releases her second single, It Gets to Me, from her album naked.

    Kirsty said "Song writing has always been my method of therapy and this is the song that poured out of me after having my heart trampled on. This song has been good to me throughout the years so I'm happy to finally have it out there for the world to hear."

    In keeping with her new found independence, and mindful of music’s diminishing sales figures Kirsty taught herself to use video editing software and, along with her fiancé conceived, shot and edited the new video.

    "The clip was shot in our old community hall, the same hall that has seen a lot of 18th's, 21st's and engagement parties in my family," said Kirsty who supported Steve Earle in 2012. "I am a massive fan of the TV show 'True Blood' so I wanted it to have a dark and gloomy, almost gothic vibe and I think that comes across in this clip.”

    view the video -

    Multi-platinum recording artist Billy Ray Cyrus is set to change minds with the international release of his 13th studio album titled Change My Mind this week. The music video can be seen on Great American Country (GAC) and CMT Pure. With Change My Mind, Cyrus delivers a stellar collection of ten songs that hearken back to his roots in bluegrass, Southern rock, gospel, and country music.
    Billy Ray Cyrus has also announced he’ll be returning to Australia, for the first time in twenty years, to perform at CMC Rocks the Hunter Festival in March 2013.

    Recorded in Los Angeles over three months with Grammy nominated, multi award-winning producer Brandon Friesen, Change My Mind finds Cyrus coming full circle musically from the days when he made his living performing in the smoky bars of the Ohio River Valley. The album has that loose, honky-tonk feel of bar band music, but is performed by a group of world-class musicians. Change My Mind showcases Cyrus’ smoldering, swaggering voice, as well as his unforgettable melodies and candid lyrics that offer up a window into his life.

    Best tracks Change My Mind, Hillbilly Heart, Stomp, Once Again and Forget to Forget.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	GT & McClymonts Geelong.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	87.4 KB
ID:	34526

    As The McClymonts have released the third single, the title track from their new album Two Worlds Collide. They also announce their highly anticipated 2013 Tamworth Country Music Festival show and the first of a new series shows that is called the Acoustic Harmony Tour.

    Brooke, Samantha and Mollie will perform at the TRECC (Tamworth) for a massive show on Thursday 24th January, 8.30pm performing songs from their most recent release Two Worlds Collide and all the songs fans have been requesting on line in a show that will cover the girls’ musical history, starting back to the release of their first EP in 2006. The 2013 Tamworth show will be a little different, according to Samantha McClymont. “We want to create a more intimate vibe,” she says.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	GT & McClymonts Tamworth.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	116.7 KB
ID:	34525

    The McClymonts released their third album, Two Worlds Collide in May this year. The first single from the album How Long Have You Known hit radio at the 2012 Tamworth Country Music Festival and was followed up with the impressive ballad Piece of Me. The album was recorded between Nashville and Sydney and featured three of the world’s most well respected producers, Peter Asher (James Taylor, Cher, Linda Ronstadt), Nathan Chapman (Taylor Swift) and Luke Wooten (Dierks Bentley).
    Bookings 02 6767 53009.

    Top 5 Singles

    1. It Gets to Me – Kirtsy Akers
    2. The Life You Made – Stephanie Jansen
    3. Home – Troy Cassar-Daley
    4. Beautiful Noise – Lee Kernaghan
    5. Two Worlds Collide – The McClymonts

    Top Ten Albums

    1. Naked – Kirsty Akers
    2. Beautiful Noise – Lee Kernaghan
    3. Wheels & Steel – Paul Costa
    4. Always Never Enough – Catherine Britt
    3. Wreck & Ruin – Kasey Chambers & Shane Nicholson
    4. Truth is Simple – Luke Austen
    5. Two Worlds Collide – The McClymonts
    6. The Drovers Wife – Luke O’Shea
    7. Hit Country 2013 CD/DVD - Various
    8. Dirt – Dean Brody
    9. Simple Things – Twyce Daily
    10. 3 Pears – Dwight Yoakam